Repertory ›

Dances and Prayers

On this occasion Azahar Ensemble proposes a program...

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) -Adagio und Allegro f-moll für ein Orgelwerk KV 594 (Arr.: Ulf-Guido Schäfer) - 9'

Joaquín Turina (1882-1949) - La Oración del Torero - 8'

Frederic Sánchez (*1987) - “Azahar” Sobre un poema de Miguel Hernández- 4'

Henri Tomasi (1901-1971) - 5 Dances Profanes et Sacrées pour quintette à vent- 14'


Eduard Toldrà (1895-1962) - “Oració al maig” von Six Sonets (Arr: F. Sánchez)- 4'

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937) - “Ma mère l’oye” (Arr.: Mark Popkin)- 15'

I- Pavane de la belle au bois dormant 

II- Petit poucet

III- Laideronnette, impératrice des pagodes 

IV- Les entretiens de la belle et de la bête 

V- Le jardin féerique 

Joaquín Turina (1882-1949) - 5 Danzas Gitanas - 15'


On this occasion Azahar Ensemble proposes a program inspired by dances and prayers. Through the music of composers with different origins and highly contrasted styles, the quintet offers pieces with a decidedly cheerful and folkloric character and others with a deep contemplative and spiritual mood. The audience will hear the impressionist music of Ravel, the evocative music by the Spanish composer Joaquín Turina, the Mediterranean freshness of Toldrà, the ecstatic rhythms of Henri Tomasi and the depth of the poem by Miguel Hernández, on which our flutist was inspired to write his work "Azahar". The concert will be started by the solemnity the Adagio and Allegro for organ KV 594 of Mozart.